The Eight Syndrome Classification

The eight syndrome classifications are damp-heat syndrome, superficial syndrome, deep syndrome, heat syndrome, cold syndrome, deficiency syndrome, and excess syndrome. Yin and yang balance each other and show different types of illness. Superficial and deep relate to the location of the disease; cold and heat indicate the nature of the illness; and deficiency and excess describe the condition of the disease. Superficial, hot, and excess syndromes are all yang, while deep, cold, and deficiency syndromes are all yin.

Yang syndromes

Yin syndromes

Superficial syndromes

Deep syndromes

Cold syndrome

Heat syndrome

Deficiency syndrome

Excess syndrome